I Am Not A Japanese Size 9: Part One – Adding Shirring to a Pleated Jumper Skirt or Dress.

Photobucket

Today’s tutorial is going to teach you how to add an extra panel of fabric to the back of a jumper skirt or dress that has a pleated waist. I am NOT a professional seamstress, and I highly recommend using one if you are uncomfortable doing this. I also do not recommend undoing more than two pleats (which will usually add about two inches to the waist) because the back of your dress will look very flat.

If you are more than an inch and a half larger than the recommended measurements of your dress, you are going to need to attempt a different alteration. Letting out a few pleats should add about an inch to two inches without ruining the silhouette – but if you need more space for ease, consider adding a bustle, a front panel, or reconstructing the bust instead (I will talk about these things later.)

Also, about halfway through this tutorial, I decided not to use shirring in my dress. However, I know that some of you were looking forward to that, so I decided to make a mock shirring panel quickly, for you to see in reference. I use a plain panel in the last few photos, so if you are using one with shirring, don’t feel confused. You’re going to do the exact same thing.

Finally, if you don’t know how to sew, learn before attempting this. Make sure that you have a quiet place to sew, and don’t rush yourself. Don’t take shortcuts, and make sure to pin and iron every seam before stitching. The extra work will be worth it, and your garment will thank you for your trouble.

Photobucket

Supplies:

You are going to need the following things, so if you don’t have them, it’s time to go shopping!

1. A dress to alter
2. Matching fabric for the shirring panel (half a yard should be more than enough. I tend to buy extra, in case I make mistakes, or I want to add bows.
3. Some lace that has loops around the edges, that is large enough to thread ribbon through.
4. Matching Fabric.
5. Ribbon of your choice.
6. Elastic
7. Scissors
8. A seam ripper (I use an artists knife.)
9. A bobbin
10.A sewing Machine

Now that you have these things, you’re ready to start!

Part one: Unpleating the Skirt

Photobucket

First, place two pins on the pleat that you want to remove. It might seem useless, but do it. This will keep you from opening the waist up too much, and having to resew an entire dress.

Photobucket

Second, flip the dress inside out (make sure you can see where the two pins are) and start to very carefully cut away the thread that holds the seam together at the waist. Very gently slid your knife under the threads, and pull. Don’t start hacking away with scissors, and don’t go too quickly. If you cut the fabric, there isn’t much you can do to fix it, so take your time!

The waist should look something like this now:

Photobucket

What you’re going to do next is cut open the back. Again, you’re going to want to go about this very slowly and carefully. If your dress has a lining, or a tag panel, make sure you pin along the line you’ll be cutting.

Photobucket

This will keep the fabric from moving as you cut, and will help you make a smooth, even divide in the fabric. Make sure your scissors are sharp, and do your absolute best to cut a straight line.

Photobucket

Ta Da! you now have an extra few inches of space to play with.

Photobucket

You’ll need to set up your sewing machine now, so if you haven’t take a moment to wind up your bobbin, and thread your needle. After you’ve done this, go ahead and make a seam on the two open edges of the bodice that you just created. Make sure you pin and iron everything so that it lays flat, and even.

Next, you need to add the lace to this area, so go ahead, and pin that onto the edge, and sew it on. Do this slowly and carefully. I didn’t, and now, I am going to have to replace one area of lace on my dress. Take the time to do it correctly now, so you won’t have to start over.

Photobucket

Now, you need to create an extra panel (with shirring, or without.) so take the measurements of the hole you have in your dress (both length and width) and cut out a piece of fabric that is about an inch longer and wider than the whole (So that you have ample space for seam allowances)

Photobucket

Hem it around the edges,and if you are going to use shirring, add in the elastic, making sure to pin it and stretch it as you sew. If you are going to make channels, do this, and thread in your elastic now. I HATE making shirring panels, so I did not make one with channels. If anyone wants to know how to do this, let me know, and I will make a quick tutorial.

Photobucket

Once this has been completed, make two smaller pleats in the open part of the skirt’s waist (to add a little volume.) and try on the dress. Make sure that the waist fits you comfortably, if not, repleat it, and try it on again. When you finally have the fit correct, go ahead and sew in the pleats. If there is a lining, don’t forget to pleat and sew that as well!

Photobucket

Now you need to take the extra panel you made, and attach it to the skirt, and sides of the bodice from the inside. Once you’ve done this, try on the dress, and make sure that it is comfortable. If it isn’t, don’t hesitate to add or reduce the amount of elastic you are using, or to make an entirely new panel that will fit your body better.

Photobucket

Sew this along the sides, and make sure that the lace you added earlier doesn’t get folded back as you sew. I made this mistake because I did not pay attention, and I am going to have to open the dress up again to correct it. ):

Photobucket

Once everything is sewn together, all you need to do   add in the ribbon, and you’re ready to go. If you have a serger and want to use it on the skirts seam do this as well, and make sure to cut any dangling threads. :)

Photobucket

I hope that this helps a lot of you out! Please, please remember, that I am not a professional seamstress, and most of this probably isn’t the industry standard. There are better stitches than the ones I know how to use, so if you have the knowledge to apply them, please do so! And, if you want to use a professional, by all means, do that too! To those of you who are interested in using this tutorial however, please do let us all know how your garment turns out.

If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask.

Yours,
signature

This entry was posted in Fashion and Beauty, Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to I Am Not A Japanese Size 9: Part One – Adding Shirring to a Pleated Jumper Skirt or Dress.

  1. This is a very good tutorial. I’m in the middle of modifying a swan embroidery skirt from Metamorphose, and it is a bit scary!
    I’m sure I’m not the only one who’ve caved in and bought a piece of clothing, knowing very well that it won’t fit me, and yet you just can’t sell it when it’s been hanging in your closet unused for months, tag still on.
    I think this will be very handy for those who are brave enough ^_^

    • Miss Rosie says:

      Thank you so much! I will definitely admit, the first few moments of sewing can be absolutely terrifying. XD

  2. Samantha says:

    Thanks so much; this is really clear and easy to follow! If you don’t mind I would love another tutorial on how to make shirring panels. I’m modifying a non-loli blouse and it’s too small in the back; I think putting a shirring panel in would help this.

    • Miss Rosie says:

      Thank you!
      I will be making a post about how to make different kinds of shirring panels shortly, so I hope that will help! :)

  3. Julie says:

    This is wonderful! Thank you! And if you do make a tutorial on the shirring panels, I would love to see it!

  4. tapioca says:

    Wow, the finished dress looks gorgeous, I think it actually looks prettier then before you altered it.

    I just have one question though : how did you add the ribbon lacing afterwards?

    • Miss Rosie says:

      In one of the earlier steps, I added some lace down the back that has large loops of thread. I used these loops to add in the lacing. I can take a larger photo for you if you would like.

  5. Caroline Englander says:

    As always Miss Rosie you have been able to inspire those of us who are just terrified to modify any kind of brand item, to go ahead and do it anyway. I myself may not be one who needs to make things bigger per say, but I do have to make alterations of my own which is never a pleasant past time. I hope to see a tutorial on how to also maybe adjust a Lolita item to maybe make it smaller as well. :] Thank you!

    • Miss Rosie says:

      I think I have some friends who are interested in having clothing taken in. :) If they are interested, I will be posting tutorials on this later. Unfortunately, having things to large is rarely an issue for me, haha.

  6. Caro says:

    Awesome tutorial! You’re quite brave to try this. The finished product doesn’t really look like you’ve modified it at all!

  7. Ayakuso says:

    This tutorial is excellent! I think I could be a bit more confident altering things that don’t fit me as well as they could from brands. :D

    And I had a question. Does this JSK still retain its shape after letting out the pleats in the back? I’d just be afraid that it wouldn’t be as poofy/the shape wouldn’t be as nice when I was done.

    Thank you so much for this!

    • Miss Rosie says:

      The reason that I suggest only removing one pleat, and repleating any extra fabric in the waist is that if you do not do this, the back of the JSK can become flattened, and won’t look quite as poofy. As long as you re-pleat the corners to fit your waist, the silhouette won’t be ruined. :)

      I’m glad you liked the tutorial, and good luck with your own alterations.

  8. Jaydn says:

    Hi there,

    I love this tute, it really helps me out.. ^^; I was just wondering where I might be able to find your other lessons/tutes.

    Jay x

    • Miss Rosie says:

      Hello! I’m glad that you’ve found this tutorial helpful. :)
      Unfortunately I haven’t had the time to upload any others just yet, but within the next few months I plan on posting one on lenghtening straps, and another on turning a JSK into a high-waisted skirt.

      Yours,
      Miss Rosie

  9. Pingback: To Post a GIANT Tutorial List | A Cursed Doll

  10. Anonymous says:

    Hello! I’d really like to see a tutorial on how to do the elastic channels! Preferably in a way to where the seams are not visible on the inside of the dress (if that makes sense. But if that’s asking too much I totally understand). I’ve been kiling myself trying to figure it out! :(

  11. Emily says:

    Would it be possible for you to do a tutorial for gathered instead of pleated? Or is it the same but basically just open up around 1/3 of the space you want to add then open it up and place in the panel? OR would it be open up 1/2 of the ammount you need put in then regathering SLIGHTLY to keep the poof at least somewhat consitent?

Leave a Reply

